Resetting your phone 4
If you ever need to wipe your device or reset the data on your phone, Palm has provided a number of different methods for you, even with different options on what gets deleted. Most of these options can be performed right on your device, although you may need to attach your device to a computer if you want to perform a complete wipe of the device with a webOSDoctor. Before you perform any of these actions, make sure you have backed up any information that you need, including copying data from the USB drive to a computer, using the WebOS Internals' Save/Restore homebrew app to back up application data, and ensuring that you have used the webOS Backup app to save your Palm Profile-related data. Continue reading after the break to learn your various reset options
On device, you have 4 levels of device reset options. To access these options, open up the Device Info app (), scroll down to the bottom and then tap the "Reset Options" button. In addition to simply restarting your device or turning it off, you will see 4 red buttons that allow you to perform the following actions:
- Erase Apps & Data - Just as this states, this will remove all the apps and their associated data from the phone, along with any of your Palm Profile-related data like Contacts and Calendar entries. After this reset is complete, you will need to log back into your Palm Profile and reactivate your phone, so make sure you have a network connection.
- Erase USB Drive - This will erase all the data on your USB drive (photos, music, documents, etc) but will not affect your apps and data. In addition, it does not require you to log back in to your Palm Profile once complete
- Full Erase - Essentially, this is a combination of "Erase Apps & Data" and "Erase USB Drive", and will, of course, require you to log back in to your Palm Profile once complete
- Secure Full Erase - Like the Full Erase, this will wipe your device of all application and USB data. However, it will then perform some additional actions to ensure that your data has been wiped clean of the device to prevent anyone from recovering any data you had on there. This process can take much longer to complete, but is a good idea if you are giving your device to another person or sending it in
If you are unable to access your phone and what to perform a reset, or want to wipe the device back to the stock operating system you can also perform a webOS Doctor on the device. Simply to go http://www.palm.com/rom and follow the on-screen directions. Note that depending on the version of webOS that you are installing, it may or may not wipe the USB drive. So, you may want to consider doing a "Full Erase" in combination with a webOS Doctor if you truly want to wipe the device
Finally, you can Remote Wipe the device, providing that the phone is still on your account and is connected to a network connection. See details here on our prior tip on remote wipe.
- Be aware that if you are performing an "Erase Apps & Data", "Full Erase", or "Secure Full Erase", you should remove any patches or modifications you have made to the device prior to performing these actions. These actions will not remove the enhancements made by those patches, but Preware and webOS Quick Install will not recognize that those patches are installed. You will need to perform a webOS Doctor or can try to use Jason Robitaille's webOS Repair Utility to try to fix these issues.
- If you are going to need to log back into your Palm Profile after a reset, make sure that you know your email address and password that you have associated to your profile. Refer to this prior tip if you do not know the email address you used.