webOS Nation | webOS Forums, News, Reviews, Apps and Help
 
 

Reviews

Review: BlackBerry VM-605 Bluetooth Car Kit 46

by Derek Kessler Mon, 01 Mar 2010 3:30 pm EST

BlackBerry VM-605 Blueooth Car Kit

Packed into the deceptively small package of the BlackBerry VM-605 Bluetooth Car Kit you’ll find a host of quality audio equipment and technology that puts this car kit a step ahead of the pack. Now I know you’re asking yourself, “I thought this was a Palm site, not CrackBerry.com.” You’re right, but seeing as the VM-605 is a bluetooth car kit, it should be more or less universal and work with just about any bluetooth-equipped phone. The Pre would be one such phone, and the VM-605 performed admirably when paired.

Review: Plantronics BackBeat 903 Bluetooth Stereo Headphones 43

by Robert Werlinger Fri, 26 Feb 2010 4:36 pm EST

Plantronics BackBeat 903 Bluetooth Stereo Headphones

Before I reviewed the Plantronics BackBeat 903 Bluetooth Stereo Headphones, I honestly didn't believe that you could find headphones that sound good, are comfortable and are somewhat stylish.

Read on for the full review!

Review: Nite Ize Backbone Case for the Palm Pre 22

by Jonathan I Ezor#IM Mon, 22 Feb 2010 5:44 pm EST

After 13 years of using Palm handhelds, my preference for cases is fairly clear: a pouch I can clip (not loop) to my belt, allowing easy access to the device while protecting it from drops, impacts and scratches. Along the way, I’ve noted a few common points of failure (especially the joint for the clip) of which to be aware. When I got the Pre, I tried a few cheap belt-clip cases, some with top flaps and others without, but when the fabric around the clip on the most recent one started to wear out, I sought a replacement. What made the search a bit more challenging was that, since my Pre has the Seidio Innocell 2600 mAh battery and the extended back it requires, a case made to closely fit the standard Palm Pre would be too shallow for my phone. I looked through the PreCentral store, and found a case that appeared to fit my needs: the $15.95 Nite Ize Backbone Case for Palm Pre.

Review: Brothers In Arms 40

by Robert Werlinger Sat, 20 Feb 2010 12:10 pm EST

Brothers In Arms ($5.99 in the App Catalog) is the first WWII 3D action/combat game to come to webOS. There’s a lot to like here: tanks, sniper rifles, and a well implemented cover system.

Tags:

Meta-Review: X-Plane: Apollo, Carrier, and Airliner 21

by Jonathan I Ezor#IM Thu, 18 Feb 2010 9:13 pm EST

Since Laminar Research’s launch of X-Plane 9 as one of the earliest official webOS 3D games during CES 2010, it has steadily pushed out versions of its other X-Plane games (already on iPhone) for the Palm Pre. As of February 15, the rest of the list includes X-Plane Glider; X-Plane Carrier; Apollo (lunar landing); Space Shuttle (a NASA space shuttle simulation); X-Plane Airliner; and the three latest: X-Plane Extreme, X-Plane Racing and X-Plane Helicopter (all listed here).

While I was able to review X-Plane 9 when it came out, it seems a bit much to review each of the X-Plane titles separately, since there is a fair amount of crossover. Instead, we're going to take a look at one each of the three basic types of X-Plane apps: the pure simulator (X-Plane 9, Glider, Extreme, Airliner, and Helicopter), the competition (Carrier and Racing), and the spacecraft simulation (Apollo and Space Shuttle). While the specific experience (aircraft, controls, etc) may vary somewhat, the overall approach will be similar within each of these categories.

Tags:

Review: ActiveCard 51

by Robert Werlinger Wed, 17 Feb 2010 4:56 pm EST

To some, one thing missing from webOS is any kind of a “home screen” like Android, S60 and Windows Mobile all have, something that allows for a quick view of current weather conditions, upcoming calendar events, twitter updates and the like all from the launcher screen. ActiveCard ($2.99 in the App Catalog) aims to bring that functionality to webOS by putting quick access to all of the above items (and more) all in one place.

Tags:

Review: Bad Kitty 14

by Robert Werlinger Mon, 15 Feb 2010 9:55 pm EST

The developers of Bad Kitty have been teasing us with details of their new Twitter client for a few months now, and my curiosity has been piqued the entire time. The app has finally hit the App Catalog selling for a cool $2.99, and I’ve finally been able to put it to the test. In the ever-growing sea of Twitter applications in the App Catalog, these programs have to have compelling feature sets and an excellent UI to stand out. Does Bad Kitty make the grade?

Tags:

Review: Poster 8

by Robert Werlinger Tue, 09 Feb 2010 10:26 am EST

There often comes a time where we need to update our WordPress blogs right now, and the only internet-connected device we have access to is our phone. As many of you know all too well, the small screens and keyboards of our phones  compounded with the way webOS browser handles links in text fields can make blogging from the phone a downright frustrating experience.  While we wait for a native application from WordPress themselves, Poster ($0.99 in the App Catalog) does a great job of filling the void, making content creation on the go a not-so-painful process.

Tags:

Review: Jabra Cruiser Bluetooth Car Kit Speakerphone 10

by Derek Kessler Thu, 04 Feb 2010 3:52 pm EST

Jabra Cruiser Bluetooth Car Kit

The Jabra Cruiser bluetooth car kit packs a bevy of technology in a sleek and shiny package. While far from innovative, the Jabra Cruiser is an adequate car kit and performs capably when paired with a Palm Pre. As you might imagine, adequate does not equal superb. The Cruiser just didn’t measure up to its price tag when it came to making calls.

Review: NewsRoom 45

by Robert Werlinger Wed, 03 Feb 2010 4:10 pm EST

In-app feed management? Check. Excellent user interface? Check. Per-feed configurable dashboard notifications? Check. NewsRoom ($4.99 in the App Catalog) is a serious contender in the ever crowded RSS reader space. Serious enough, in fact, that you may soon find yourself replacing your current RSS reader with this one.

Tags: