Set default Email folders | webOS Nation

Set default Email folders

by Adam Marks Mon, 01 Nov 2010 12:48 pm EDT

Email Default Folders By default, whenever you send an email, a copy gets saved in your "Sent" folder. Whenever you save a draft email, that draft gets saved in your "Drafts" folder. And whenever you delete an email, that email gets moved to your trash. But what if you wanted to specify a different folder for any or all of those actions above? You actually have control over the folders that are used. From within the Email app, swipe down from the top-left corner to bring up the Email Application drop-down, select "Preferences & Accounts", and then tap on the specific email account you want to update in the "ACCOUNTS" section. If you scroll all the way down to the bottom of that screen, you will see that you have an option to change these "Default Folders." Just tap the option you want to change, select the new folder from your list of folders and then back swipe out of the preferences screen.  But why would you ever want to change these default folders? Keep reading after the break for some ideas


  • For Sent and Drafts, these would really just allow you to easily distinguish which emails were created from your phone, and would not be mixed with all the other emails from your account.
  • The Trash option allows you to quickly "move" emails to a predefined folder so you can keep your Inbox clean but not actually delete those emails. Then you can manage and clean out that folder on your PC when you have the time.
  • For any of the options, setting a phone-specific folder would also allow you to find a specific emails quicker because you instead of having to load the entire history of sent or deleted emails for your account, for example, you would only have to load up the emails in those folders (especially if you cleaned them out on a regular basis from your PC)
  • Note that certain email accounts may prevent you from changing some of these options, as you can see in the screenshot above that Gmail prevents you from changing the "Sent Mail" option

Thanks to John L. Burger for suggesting this tip!

Your rating: None Average: 4.3 (3 votes)