webOS Nation | webOS Forums, News, Reviews, Apps and Help
 
 

Reviews

Review: Yak, a Twitter client for webOS 14

by Robert Werlinger Mon, 02 Aug 2010 9:25 am EDT

The App Catalog is awash in a flood of terrific Twitter apps, from the excellent Tweed (this blogger's current favorite) to the innovative and visually stunning TweetMe for webOS.  Not only does a Twitter app have to look good these days to compete in the 'Catalog, it has to perform blazingly fast with a cutting edge feature set, and Yak ($2.99 in the App Catalog) has what it takes to be a serious contender.  How does it stack up against some of the newer and established names? There's only one way to find out: by reading on after the break.

read more...
Tags:

Review: WeatherIcon 21

by jakerome Thu, 22 Jul 2010 12:14 pm EDT

 

The App Doctor’s App of the Week is WeatherIcon (free), the latest in a long line of weather-related programs for webOS. This particular app is intended to unobtrusively display your current weather by altering its icon to reflect the temperature and conditions. In this respect, its raison d'être is similar to SimpleWeather ($1) and Weather Dashboard Lite (free), both of which also attempt to serve as weather "widgets" that serve up data at a glance. Weather Dashboard runs constantly in the Notification Area, but that gets in the way if you like to clear your notifications often, as I do. SimpleWeather, of course, is not free, but it does seem comparable to WeatherIcon in both conception and implementation.

read more...
Tags:

Review: Giant Fighting Robots 8

by Robert Werlinger Sat, 10 Jul 2010 3:03 pm EDT

Giant Fighting Robots ($4.99 on sale in the App Catalog) is like MechWarrior for your Pre, but without any of that pesky "plot" to bore you. It’s a fun game to be sure, but does the limited amount of gameplay in this accelerometer-controlled robot combat simulator, when compared to some of the other big name 3D titles in the App Catalog, justify its $10 asking price? Read on to discover our exciting conclusion and video review!

read more...
Tags:

Review: WiFi Media Sync 44

by Robert Werlinger Wed, 07 Jul 2010 2:59 pm EDT

There will soon come a day when wired data syncing will be looked back at as the barbaric and uncivilized practice that it is.  WiFi Media Sync ($5.99 in the App Catalog) by 8-bit Development is one of the first steps towards that enlightened future, bringing two-way wireless file sync to webOS powered devices over WiFi (Sorry, Sprint Pixi users).   

read more...
Tags:

Review: Notes 25

by Robert Werlinger Wed, 07 Jul 2010 10:51 am EDT

The default memos application in webOS is sufficient for the more basic of tasks such as quick reminders, but sometimes we need a little more functionality. Enter Notes (currently going for $2.50 In the App Catalog) by Inglorious Apps which offers a laundry list of features, including Evernote-like media functionality without the need for an account, to help you remember what you need to remember more effectively. 

read more...
Tags:

Flickr Addict Review 7

by jakerome Tue, 06 Jul 2010 12:07 pm EDT

Please welcome jakerome, a hero in our forums, as our latest reviewer! - Dieter

Being a huge Pre fan and a bit of an anti-legend on Flickr, I was excited when I saw FlickrAddict had been introduced into the App Catalog. Not knowing what to expect, I was happy to discover that this app was the most stellar wallpaper app on webOS. Fun, serendipitous, easy to use, customizable and being constantly improved by Shane O'Sullivan, the Irish developer that's always seem ready to answer questions & respond to user feedback.

Read on for the full review!

read more...
Tags:

Review: Motorola T505 MotoROKR Speakerphone 3

by Jonathan I Ezor#IM Tue, 15 Jun 2010 3:01 am EDT

Palm has done a solid job of figuring out how the Pre and Pixi’s different audio inputs and outputs should interact. Whether switching from speaker to headphones, or mic to Bluetooth headset to speakerphone, webOS generally makes it work fairly automatically.

On the other hand, the peripherals we use with our phones, especially in the car, are not always so well integrated, and switching back and forth can be distracting or even dangerous. For those of us whose cars do not have a sophisticated Bluetooth audio system, combining hands-free telephone usage and music listening can mean multiple patch cords, blind taps on the screen and more-than-occasional missed calls or accidentally skipped songs.

A number of peripheral manufacturers have created products to fill this niche, and to integrate both telephone and audio use via Bluetooth. We have previously reviewed the Jabra Cruiser Speakerphone, and recently had a chance to put the Motorola MOTOROKR T505 through its paces. The T505 turns out to be a solid choice, with a few caveats regarding security and delays with the FM tuner.

read more...

AT&T Palm Pixi Plus Review 30

by Dieter Bohn Thu, 03 Jun 2010 11:03 am EDT

Read our original Palm Pixi Review

The Palm Pixi Plus on AT&T is Palm's best hardware to date, the tiny little phone has a size and feel that impresses. That incredibly thin and small package includes an unfortunate tradeoff, however, for most users it is simply too slow and underpowered when compared to the Palm Pre Plus.

We've had the AT&T Palm Pixi Plus here at PreCentral HQ for a couple of days now. It will be released to the masses on June 6th for $49.99 after contract and rebates. If you're familiar with webOS, you know that you're looking at here is virtually identical to the Palm Pixi Plus on Verizon and the Sprint Palm Pixi.

The difference between the Pixi and the Pixi Plus is that the Pixi Plus has WiFi, an essential addition for webOS. Unlike the Verizon Pixi Plus, the AT&T version does not include the ability to download Mobile Hotpot and use the Pixi for tethering, though AT&T's announced data plan changes give us hope that this may be an option in the future.

More impressions after the break

read more...

Review: N.O.V.A. 13

by Robert Werlinger Tue, 01 Jun 2010 11:05 am EDT

 

3D gaming titles have been coming to webOS at a rapid click, and we’re starting to see the platform get titles just as soon (and sometimes even before) the iPhone does.  N.O.V.A, or Near Orbit Vanguard Alliance, is one such example of a hotly anticipated first person shooter hitting the webOS platform not too long after becoming available to iPhone users , and it's absolutely on the forefront of what’s possible in smartphone based gaming. 

read more...
Tags:

AT&T Palm Pre Plus Review 104

by Dieter Bohn Thu, 13 May 2010 11:33 am EDT

ATT Palm Pre Plus

The Palm Pre Plus on AT&T has solid hardware, mature software, and most importantly finally gives US-based GSM lovers a webOS option. AT&T is now the third US carrier to pick up Palm webOS devices and they're starting it off with the Palm Pre Plus at $149.99 with a 2-year contract. The Pre Plus will be available May 16th, the Pixi Plus will land later. We've only had a review unit for a couple of days but since there's so little changed from the Palm Pre Plus on Verizon that's enough time to give you a quick review of how the AT&T version fares.

We're going to focus primarily on what's new and different with the AT&T Palm Pre Plus as compared to previous versions of the device. If you're new to webOS, the good news is we have plenty of resources for you to learn what this device is all about.

Read on to see how the AT&T Palm Pre Plus stacks up!

read more...