webOS Nation | webOS Forums, News, Reviews, Apps and Help
 
 

Reviews

Windows Phone: Round Robin Review 9

by Dieter Bohn Wed, 03 Feb 2010 10:32 am EST

After representing Windows Mobile for two years running the Smartphone Round Robin, this year I'm taking at a look at it from a webOS user's perspective. Windows Mobile (which can be found on Windows Phone) has had a rough year wherein the big launch was 6.5, which was a minor update to 6.1, which itself was a minor update to 6.0, which some have argued was more like Windows Mobile 5.5 than anything... you get the picture, Windows Mobile hasn't seen much in the way of huge OS updates for a long time now.

So where's the action at? It's at HTC, who has churned out what is probably the coolest single piece of smartphone hardware of the past year and who has also developed this thing called 'Sense' that's less a theme or skin and more a symbiotic app suite that replaces as much of the look and feel of Windows Mobile as humanly possible.

We'll delve into all that and more, after the break!

read more...

Review: FlashCards 18

by Robert Werlinger Fri, 29 Jan 2010 3:00 pm EST

It’s been some time since I’ve been a student, but I remember making and using flash cards all too well. I also remember the hassle that came along with carrying multiple sets of those flash cards: the bulk, the inconvenience, and if you’re like me, the difficulty of keeping the damn things organized.  Thankfully for those among you who are students, FlashCards ($4.99 in the App Catalog) aims to shrink all of those unwieldy sets of cards down into a single application , allowing you to study wherever, whenever, so long as you have your webOS powered phone with you.

read more...
Tags:

Review: Guitarist's Reference Pro 18

by Robert Werlinger Fri, 22 Jan 2010 10:14 am EST

 

Guitarists know that a reference book as pocketable as your phone is invaluable. Bonus if that guide is actually in your phone. Enter Guitarist's Reference Pro ($2.99 in the App Catalog), a robust reference program that enables musicians to look up any chord, scale, note or arpeggio imaginable (and even tune their instruments) right from their webOS powered phone.

read more...
Tags:

Palm Pre Plus Image Gallery 11

by Dieter Bohn Thu, 21 Jan 2010 9:36 pm EST

The Palm Pre Plus on Verizon is little, black, better. Click on through to see why!

read more...

Palm Pixi Plus Review & Image Gallery 24

by Dieter Bohn Thu, 21 Jan 2010 9:35 pm EST

It's been just over two months since the original Palm Pixi landed on Sprint and already we have the Palm Pixi Plus hitting Verizon: January 25th, $99 after a $100 mail-in rebate and a two-year contract. We've already thoroughly reviewed the original Palm Pixi and so strongly recommend you check that out - what we're 'reviewing' here are the differences.

Read on for those and for a gallery of hot hot Palm Pixi Plus action!

read more...

Palm Pre Plus vs Palm Pre - Multitasking Mayhem 80

by Dieter Bohn Thu, 21 Jan 2010 2:40 pm EST

Above, we compare the multitasking prowess of the new Palm Pre Plus on Verizon to the original Palm Pre on Sprint. How much of a difference does that extra RAM make? Preliminary results are in and the difference is: a lot.

We can't tell if maybe Palm sent us a ringer for a review unit, but you can see above that, no fooling, it's 13 cards on the original Pre vs 50 on the Pre Plus.

Yes, the Pre Plus did slow down quite a bit when we started getting over 30(!) cards, but it kept on opening apps like a champ and never brought us the "Too Many Cards" error.

What do you think?

Review: Palm Pre Plus on Verizon 143

by Dieter Bohn Wed, 20 Jan 2010 10:51 pm EST

 

Palm has updated the Pre for Verizon, slightly tweaking the hardware and upping the RAM available to run apps. The Pre Plus is exclusive to Verizon and in addition to the noted hardware updates, the Pre Plus also will have an innovative and crazy-cool piece of software available for it called "Mobile Hotspot," which turns the Pre Plus into a mobile WiFi router. The Palm Pre Plus arrives January 25th on Verizon, exclusively, for $149.99 after a $100 mail-in rebate and a two-year contract.

We've had the Palm Pre Plus for a few days now and our initial take is quite simple: it's definitely better than the original Pre, but is it so much better that current Sprint subscribers should switch to Verizon? Read on to find out!

read more...

Palm Pre Plus vs iPhone 3GS: Need for (Browser) Speed 23

by Dieter Bohn Wed, 20 Jan 2010 10:00 pm EST

We didn't go all-out in this Palm Pre Plus vs. iPhone 3GS smackdown, instead we picked the three things that best show the differences between the platforms, to wit:

  • Browser load and rendering time
  • Loading up and playing a 3D game
  • Multitasking

The results came in pretty much exactly how you'd guess: the iPhone 3GS edges out the Palm Pre Plus on both the Browser speed test and loading up Need For Speed Undercover. The iPhone also, incidentally, blows the doors off webOS when it comes to the number and quality of available games.

But the Palm Pre Plus did some door-blowing of its own - you're able to pause the game and pick up right where you left off because of the card multitasking system.

Everything About the Palm Pre Plus and Palm Pixi Plus in 10 Minutes 7

by Dieter Bohn Wed, 20 Jan 2010 10:00 pm EST

New to webOS? Verizon customer looking to replace that janky BlackBerry and wondering what all the fuss is about? You're in the right place - the video above has everything you need to know about webOS in ten minutes.

Looking for more information? Our original Palm Pre Review has a bootload of information - just be aware that Palm has added a ton of new features since we wrote it. If you're intrigued by any of the concepts mentioned in the video above, you can find out more details in our Palm Pre Guide.

Of course, the real knowledge lives in the biggest Palm forums on the internet, so don't hesitate to try a search there!

Windows Phone Video - Smartphone Round Robin 16

by Dieter Bohn Wed, 20 Jan 2010 2:54 pm EST

It's the penultimate week of the Smartphone Round Robin and my task this week is to try to understand where Windows Mobile / Windows Phone is at these days.  I'm seeking advice from Windows Mobile users over at WMExperts, so if you're in that camp, go on and give me a shout-out there.

If you're looking to get the final word in on the comparative looks at webOS, Rene Ritchie of The iPhone Blog has it this week and he's looking for assistance himself.

After the break, Phil Nickinson of WMExperts walks me though the latest and greatest Windows Phones

read more...