webOS Nation | webOS Forums, News, Reviews, Apps and Help
 
 

Reviews

Review: Motorola H790 Bluetooth Headset 0

by Derek Kessler Fri, 01 Jan 2010 7:00 pm EST

Motorola H790 Bluetooth Headset

Too often it’s seemed like a Bluetooth headset could be tiny, or it could sound good, but few headsets have blurred those lines like the Motorola H790 Bluetooth Headset. This silvery thin headset not only looks great, but it sounds great too. Combine that with a surprisingly comfortable design and none-too-high price tag and you’ve got a winning combination of a headset.

read more...

Palm webOS by Mitch Allen: A Real (Book) Review 11

by Jonathan I Ezor#IM Wed, 30 Dec 2009 1:54 pm EST

Palm webOS by Mitch Allen

As a wanna-be developer, I rejoiced in the announcement in February of O'Reilly Books' Palm webOS by Mitch Allen, read the free first chapter and even purchased the online preview version, in the hopes that it could turn me into a webOS developer. Now that I have read a review copy of the final print version, though, I am sad to say that it did not magically do so. On the other hand, experienced developers and those beginners who already know the basics of HTML and Javascript will find the book a hugely useful resource, and even those who are not yet at that level (but may be considering giving it a try, especially with the recent release of Palm's Web-based Project Ares online development environment) will benefit from its clear discussion, code examples, best practices and identification of pitfalls. Even for the non-developer, Palm webOS provides insight into how applications work and interact on the Pre and Pixi.

read more...

Quick App: Presteroids 9

by Dieter Bohn Mon, 28 Dec 2009 8:45 pm EST

I wanted to point out a nice little app that we approved earlier today in our Homebrew App Gallery: Presteroids. It comes to us by way of kayahr, who humbly describes it as "an early alpha version." I humbly describe it as a fun and somewhat addictive asteroids app that I completely stink at playing.

If this is the 'early alpha,' I can't wait to see what the Beta will look like. Best of all for you potential coders, kayahr is releasing it under the GPL v3 Open Source license, which means you're free to dig in, learn from, and use the code (under the same license).

Never tried Homebrew apps before? Here's how.

 

Tags:

Six Months with the Pre: Real Review 49

by Jonathan I Ezor#IM Mon, 28 Dec 2009 6:53 pm EST

This week marks six months since I received my Palm Pre as one of Palm's 10 Real Reviewers. Since then, I've been writing about the Pre on Twitter (where I tweet as PalmPreLawyer), on Facebook, in person and (thanks to an invitation from Dieter Bohn) here on PreCentral. While I've published some shorter Real Reviews over the past months, I thought it might be useful to provide a more complete story of my experiences with the Pre and webOS.

read more...

BlackBerry Hands-on Video: Smartphone Round Robin 20

by Dieter Bohn Mon, 28 Dec 2009 1:55 pm EST

 

The Smartphone Round Robin rambles into week three - and this week I'm taking a look at the BlackBerry platform. RIM has recovered from the original Storm (which we luckily didn't need to review last year) and brought the Storm 2, which seems legitimately decent. The Bold 9700 is also in the house, which to mind is the pinnacle of BlackBerrys today.

I'm seeking help from the good people at CrackBerry.com, so keep an eye on the conversation there. Also keep an eye on our own forums for a post from CrackBerry Kevin, who has webOS this week.

After the break, my hands-on video with BlackBerry!

read more...

Nokia Review - Smartphone Round Robin 6

by Dieter Bohn Sat, 26 Dec 2009 7:50 pm EST

In some ways, Palm and Nokia might be polar opposite companies: one is a perennial underdog who has mainly seen modest success in the US market, the other is a global giant who sells more phones than most anybody yet can't see to gain any traction in the US. Then again, I also see the companies as very similar: both were pioneers in the smartphone space and are facing difficult times ahead, both appear to be betting the farm on new and untested Linux-based operating systems, both have straight-up loyal (if not fanatical) groups of users pulling for them. Heck, I even picked Nokia as the company I'd like to see buy Palm if Palm were for sale (they're not).

All this has been in the back of my mind this week as I mulled over my time with the Nokia N97 Mini and the Nokia N900. I also need to thank the generous and kind Nokia Experts commenters, who have been super-helpful in getting me to look at Nokia phones in a different light.

So let's do this: Round Robin Round Two!

read more...

Quick App Review: Mezzoman Brings People Together...Literally 7

by Jonathan I Ezor#IM Wed, 23 Dec 2009 10:47 am EST

Mezzoman Search Box

I just tested a review copy of Mezzoman (available in the App Catalog), which is designed to help two (or three) people "meet in the middle."On the whole, it seems to be a simple and useful app, although it has some limitations that are worth knowing about.

The essence of Mezzoman is very simple: the user puts in his own address (or uses current GPS coordinates, requiring location services to be turned on), and one or two (for the paid version) other addresses, enters a search term (I tried two searches, "kosher" and "bowling," since the program is not limited to food genres), selects a search results radius (apparently in miles, although it does not specify units), chooses from either review site Yelp or Google as a search tool, and hits the big "Mezzoman Go!" button at the bottom of the screen. The Mezzoman client will search for businesses meeting the search criteria in the radius around the midpoint between the two addresses.

read more...
Tags:

Review: Altec Lansing BackBeat 903 Bluetooth Headphones 28

by Derek Kessler Tue, 22 Dec 2009 10:44 pm EST

Altec Lansing BackBeat 903 Bluetooth Headphones

Bluetooth headphones have long been criticized, sometimes rightfully so, for their poor audio quality, but the Altec Lansing BackBeat 903 bluetooth headphones stand head and shoulders above the competition. Sporting a flexible design that combines street-style over-the-ear headphones with in-ear buds, the BackBeat 903s are comfortable to boot. If they sound so great and feel darned good, there’s got to be a drawback, right? Well, for all that awesomeness there’s absolutely no sound-isolation that makes the “OpenMic” system a gimmick at best.

read more...

Nokia: Video Review, Smartphone Round Robin 20

by Dieter Bohn Mon, 21 Dec 2009 12:46 pm EST

I can't tell you how pumped I am about this year's Smartphone Round Robin - it's already been a great first week and week two should be a blast. This year we're lucky to include both the Nokia platform and the best Nokia Expert I know: Matthew Miller. Now that we've filled that Nokia-shaped hole in the Round Robin things feel a lot more complete.

After the break, check out a video of Matthew teaching me the ways of Nokia, both on the Nokia N97 Mini (pictured above) and the Nokia N900. I'm also hoping that I'll be getting some good advice from Nokia Experts Readers. If you're a Palm user wondering what the majority of smartphone users worldwide are used to, this week we hope to figure that out.

(Meanwhile, keep an eye out in our own forum for a post from Casey Chan, who will be looking to measure webOS up with Android.)

read more...

Review: Blueant Q1 Voice Controlled Bluetooth Headset 23

by Derek Kessler Sat, 19 Dec 2009 11:08 pm EST

Blueant Q1 Voice Controlled Bluetooth Headset

The Blueant Q1 Voice Controlled Bluetooth Headset takes the voice-control formula from its older brother, the Blueant V1, and crams it into a slimmer and much more attractive design. The end result is a stylish headset with some handy controls quite literally available at the sound of your voice.

read more...