webOS Nation | webOS Forums, News, Reviews, Apps and Help
 
 

Reviews

Quick Review: Motorola H17 Bluetooth Headset 13

by Dieter Bohn Mon, 16 Nov 2009 9:02 am EST

The Motorola H17 Bluetooth Headset is a tiny, superb headset with dual microphones, Crystal Talk clarity, and a flip-out switch to turn it off when you're not using it.

I recognize that I have somewhat quirky preferences when it comes to Bluetooth devices, but here it is: when I'm not using a bluetooth device, I want it off. I absolutely hate answering the phone only to have no sound and realize that the call is being routed to a Bluetooth headset that's, well, somewhere other than my ear. I also like that a headset that it off is a headset that's not draining the battery.

Fiddling with long-press on buttons is a hassle, I much prefer a simple, straightfoward switch.  The Motorola H17 Bluetooth Headset has just that, a flip out boom that not only turns the headset on and off, but also auto-answers the phone when you flip it out during an incoming call.

Add in dual-microphones for outgoing voice quality that's second only to the Jawbone (in my humble opinion) and Moto's under-appreciated "Crystal Talk" technology for incoming sound quality that's second to none and you have a winner. I'm also impressed with the quick-charging microUSB port (same port as the Pre and Pixi), just 15 minutes of charging is good for over 2 hours of talk time. The H17 also has voice alerts to keep you apprised of the headset's status without making you remember arcane combinations of blinky led colors.

Motorola has been offering flip-out boom headsets for a very long time now, but the H17 is the first to come in a size that's competitive with the other top-line headset out there. So far, I love it.

My review unit was provided by the PreCentral.net Store, which has the H17 for only $89.95, $10 off the MSRP. A couple more shots after the break.

read more...

Palm Pixi Review 75

by Dieter Bohn Sun, 15 Nov 2009 10:42 pm EST

The Palm Pixi is a tiny smartphone with enough features and elegance to woo even the most die-hard feature phone user, but current Pre owners will want to stick with what they have.

The $99 Palm Pixi will be unleashed upon the world this Sunday and after using one full-time for two days, I can say it's a great smartphone for anybody who hasn't made the jump past feature phones. The Pixi comes in a tiny, almost bite-able form-factor that's immediately appealing -- all the more so because inside that little frame is the elegance and power of webOS.

For current smartphone owners, however, there are a few compromises that, all combined, lead me to suggest that most those interested in webOS should still opt for the more powerful Pre.

Read on for our full review!

read more...

Palm Pixi Photo Gallery 11

by Dieter Bohn Thu, 12 Nov 2009 10:01 am EST

Can't get enough Pixi? Can't say we blame you. After the break, plenty more Pixi photos for you to stare it, including comparison shots with the Centro, Treo Pro, RAZR, iPhone 3GS, and yes, the Pre.

Join us after the break!

read more...

Review: Facebook App for webOS 54

by Dieter Bohn Thu, 12 Nov 2009 10:01 am EST

The Pixi arrives on Sunday and with it, the ability for Pixi owners (and Pre owners when their 1.3.1 update arrives) to finally download the Facebook app from Palm's Official App Catalog. Here's our review, it's a quick one as the app probably does less than you might expect.

The Facebook app is actually more of a Facebook Friend Feed app. It consists of a list of your friends' status updates, which you an interact it on a fairly basic level. Here's the functionality the Facebook app offers:

  • Read a list of your friends' status updates
  • Comment on their status updates and make them as "liked."
  • Update your own status
  • When a friend updates a photo album, you can view the album within the Facebook app.
  • Comment on a friend's photo album

That's about it. No viewing of profiles, no Facebook chat or Facebook Inbox, no invites. Even with the photo album features, it only works if it pops up in your news feed, you can't navigate to them directly. If you tap on a username inside the Facebook app, it takes you to your Synergized contact card for that friend.

Essentially, it's a Twitter-view of Facebook.  It honestly is good at what it does, but don't expect it to do any more. The rest of your Facebook functionality on the Pre will still live at http://x.facebook.com. Or if you're a homebrewer, check out PalmBook.

Tags:

Review: Prima Lateral Pouch Case 5

by Derek Kessler Mon, 09 Nov 2009 1:59 pm EST

Prima Lateral Pouch Case

There’s something to be said for quality materials like those in the Prima Leather Pouch Case. There’s also something to be said for the case being the correct size. Unfortunately, only the former can be applied to the Prima Lateral Pouch Case as with regards to the Palm Pre. The case is made of rather nice leather with cleanly stitched and sealed edges, but it’s simply too large for the Palm Pre, unless you like having an extra half inch of space for the phone to slide around. Clearly, this case is designed for a phone much larger than the Pre, as evidenced by the extra space and elastic expansion joints on either end. Altogether it’s a nice case, it’s just not the right case.

read more...

Review: Stitcher Podcast Streamer 16

by Dieter Bohn Thu, 05 Nov 2009 2:55 pm EST

So the PalmCast is up in its non-live form and you want to give it a listen on your Pre? If you're a homebrewer, there's a healthy chance you're headed to refresh drPodder. If you're not, you could sync with iTunes (assuming, of course, you haven't updated to the latest version :| ).

If the above don't work, you might check out Stitcher in the official App Catalog. It's a straight-forward podcast discovery and streaming app that I've been using for a week or so now with pretty good results. 

More after the break!

read more...
Tags:

Music Player (Remix) Part 2 21

by milominderbinde Fri, 30 Oct 2009 12:56 pm EDT

Palm Pre webOS Music Player Remix Splash Screen

In Part 1 we saw many of the new features that PreCentral member DanPLC has brought us with his Music Player (Remix). Remix is the most popular with over 150,000 downloads. We have already seen how Remix adds a list of features to the Palm Pre webOS Music Player including a slider, elapsed time, bookmarks, lyrics, Resume Play, and on-the-fly-playlists or "Flylists." In this installment we will round out our review with details on new options, playlist features, Alphabet Selector, fonts, background colors, wallpapers, and the new landscape mode.

More after the break...

 

read more...
Tags:

Review: Palm Pre Leather Side Case 51

by The Keith Newman Wed, 28 Oct 2009 12:51 pm EDT

The Palm Leather Side Case is the de-facto case for many Palm Pre users, but is de-facto a little deficient? The case is made of high quality leather on the outside while soft microfiber lining is placed inside for full screen protection.  The case offers a slim design which is used to keep the original Pre concept of stream-lined in mind.  The belt clip is snug and there is a ribbon that is used to help pull the device out of the case.

Read on for the full review!

read more...
Tags:

Review: Incipio Orion Flip Case 12

by Derek Kessler Mon, 26 Oct 2009 12:25 pm EDT

Incipio Orion Flip Case

The Incipio Orion Flip Case is a clean and simple leather side case that is both attractive and reasonably protective, while still maintaining a slim profile. Designed by Incipio specifically for the Palm Pre, the Orion flip case provides a snug fit, but not so tight that it is difficult to remove or insert your phone. With a double magnet closure and super strong belt clip, this case will keep your Pre in place on your hip with style.

read more...

Review: Jabra JX20 Pura Bluetooth Headset 10

by Derek Kessler Thu, 08 Oct 2009 9:29 pm EDT

Jabra JX20 Pura Bluetooth Headset

Very few headsets can claim to be the work of a Scandinavian design firm, but sadly it seems that such status is one of the few redeeming characteristics of the pricey Jabra JX20 Pura Bluetooth Headset. The JX20 comes with both a striking titanium casing and an over-the-top desktop charging dock, though despite all the attractive design it falls short in the category of voice quality.

read more...