webOS Nation | webOS Forums, News, Reviews, Apps and Help
 
 

Reviews

Review: Body Glove Side Case 15

by Derek Kessler Mon, 31 Aug 2009 4:41 pm EDT

Body Glove Side Case

The Body Glove Side Case is a case that manages the difficult feat of being attractive and visually interesting cases while still being subtle enough to not call too much attention to itself. Made from soft and sturdy scuba material with a strong magnetic closure, the Body Glove Side Case is going to keep your Pre securely in place, but the case’s relatively thin shell may not protect it from hard impacts. That said, it’s a more than adequate case for most and quite adequately will keep your phone at the ready and in style.

read more...

Review: BlueAnt V1 Voice Controlled Headset 15

by Derek Kessler Wed, 26 Aug 2009 11:23 am EDT

BlueAnt V1 Bluetooth Headset

On top of being a solid Bluetooth headset, the BlueAnt V1 adds voice control to the mix. There are plenty of handsets with voice control, and there are thousands of bluetooth headsets to connect to those phones. But a bluetooth headset with voice control? There aren’t many of those. And so I find myself with the BlueAnt V1 hooked to my ear, one of those few voice control headsets.

So how does it work? Quite nicely. Not only does the voice control feature work well, the headset actually talks to you instead of replying with cryptic beeps and boops. Overall, despite its less-than-graceful aesthetics, the BlueAnt V1 is a quality bluetooth headset.

read more...

Review: Motorola MOTOROKR S305 Bluetooth Stereo Headphones 23

by Derek Kessler Tue, 25 Aug 2009 11:49 am EDT

Motorola MOTOROKR S305 Bluetooth Headphones

The MOTOROKR S305 Stereo Bluetooth Headset sports sleek looks and a low price, but audio quality is lacking.  Wrapped around my head you’ll find the Motorola MOTOROKR S305 Bluetooth Stereo Headphones, and you won’t see any wires connecting them to my Pre. Huzzah!  They’ve got a relatively secure fit and a minimalist design that artfully hides the fact that there’s a battery and all sorts of transmitters and receivers inside to make it work. For bluetooth headphones they’re relatively inexpensive, but that becomes evident when you realize that the S305 disappoints in the most important area: audio quality.

read more...

Review: Word Ace 45

by Mononoko Mon, 24 Aug 2009 11:48 am EDT

Word Ace  

This app review brought to you by forum member MononokoCheck out our Forum Review details here!

With six new apps that recently hit the App Catalog, Word Ace joined the ranks of webOS games. It can be clearly seen that this app by Self Aware Games is definitely the best official game out there. It is a great concept, looks sleek, and has great features and tracking. It is a sure pick up for any Pre owner, gamer or not.

Ed Note: You might even find yourself facing ACG4444, the Self Aware Games-declared Word Ace Champion (and PreCentral member) as of this writing! If you want to play Mononoko, hit up code 1835. Feel free to post your own friend codes in this thread.

read more...
Tags:

Review: SPE Side Pouch 6

by Derek Kessler Mon, 24 Aug 2009 11:12 am EDT

SPE Side Pouch

The Smartphone Experts Side Pouch Case for the Palm Pre is a low-profile, leather belt pouch to keep your Pre at the ready and protected. Like it’s vertical cousin the Top Pouch, the  Side Pouch is a rather standard-fare magnetic closure hip case, though in this case it is arranged in the horizontal orientation.

The Side Pouch was designed specifically for the Pre, so the fit is snug without being too tight. And like most SPE products, the Side Pouch is solidly constructed with care taken to wrap all leather edges under themselves before stitching the whole thing together.

read more...

My Top Five Palm Pre Accessories 49

by Dieter Bohn Tue, 18 Aug 2009 11:54 am EDT

My top five Palm Pre Accessories are very straightforward - I like to cover the basics first. Our Palm Pre Accessories forum have been very active with accessory talk and I figured I'd chime in with my top picks. Far be it from me to dictate what you should get for your Pre, but what I'm listing here are the five things that, for me, are essential for my Pre experience.

Let's see what we've got, shall we?

read more...

Review: SPE Top Pouch Case for Palm Pre 11

by Derek Kessler Fri, 14 Aug 2009 10:19 am EDT

SPE Top Pouch

The Smartphone Experts Top Pouch Case for Palm Pre is a straightforward vertical, leather hip case with magnetic closure. Unlike many others out there, this one is specifically designed with the Palm Pre in mind, so you can expect it to be a good fit for the phone. Like most SPE products, the leather Top Pouch for Palm Pre is quite sturdily constructed; they’ve taken great care to not have any exposed leather edges - the leather is instead wrapped inside between the outer and inner layers and then stitched. It’s details like this that point to the attention-to-detail we’ve come to expect from SPE products.

read more...

Review: Sprint Navigation for the Pre 96

by sacherjj#AC Thu, 13 Aug 2009 10:18 am EDT

Sprint Navigation

This app review brought to you by forum member sacherjjCheck out our Forum Review details here!

When I heard about the GPS navigation included with the Pre and data plan, I just assumed that it would be OK. I assumed it would work, I just didn't think it would work well. I was wrong. Our current GPS needs are being met with two Garmin Nuvi's. The most recent being the 650, with a data update loaded within the month. I though there was no way that the Sprint Navigation (by TeleNav) could do better than the Garmin. Again, I was wrong.

I decided to use the GPS to "find" my way home from work. This experience is why I went out to collect some screen shots and write this review. I was impressed. The routing quality blows my Garmin out of the water. So does the routing speed. The work is offloaded to a fast server, rather than on a small CPU. When you divert off the given route, recalculating is nearly instantaneous. With the Garmin, it can take a few seconds. The kicker was that the routing was dead on, nearly the best way to get home. Over 20 miles with city, interstate, neighborhood, with options to come in from 3 directions. Sprint Navigation got it right.

read more...
Tags:

Review: Seidio Spring-Clip Holster Series for the Palm Pre 49

by The Keith Newman Mon, 10 Aug 2009 3:51 pm EDT

The Seidio Spring Clip Holster series is designed to keep your device secure and close to your hip, yet still allows for quick and easy access to your Pre.  The holster is coated with soft-touch rubber that is similar to the back of the Touchstone cover.  The case is made of polycarbonate which has a firm build quality and it is designed to have your phone face inward in order to avoid any accidental screen damage. 

The holster has a locking swivel belt clip that offers up to seven different rotating angles (so you don't have to worry if this is a vertical or horizontal case, it can be both if need be).  There are two versions available (this review will cover both since they are almost identical); the first has a headphone quick access prong spring-clip and while the second version shares the same exact polycarbonate body, it has a different spring-clip that does not allow for quick access to the headphone port on the top of the device.

read more...

Review: Palm Pre Car Charger 56

by The Keith Newman Thu, 30 Jul 2009 1:48 pm EDT

Palm Vehicle Charger

The Palm Car Charger for the Pre is a compact and convenient USB charger that will keep your Pre topped off while on the go. We know car chargers are fairly important accessories to have, especially when it comes to smartphones. You never know when you'll need to get a few precious moments of juice. The problem was always finding a charger that wasn't an eyesore in your vehicle.

Enter the latest addition to the Palm family of chargers. This time, you have a device that looks good, supplies enough power to charge your phone while listening to Pandora and using Sprint Navigation, plus it comes with a data sync cable for the Pre.

Oh yeah, it gets points for working with my Touchstone Charger in my car. Your mileage may vary (excuse the pun), as I'll explain after the break.

read more...