webOS Nation | webOS Forums, News, Reviews, Apps and Help
 
 

Reviews

Review: Classic Palm OS Emulator by MotionApps 81

by Dieter Bohn Tue, 14 Jul 2009 8:33 am EDT

This app review brought to you by forum member ProfJonathon.  For the fine work done here, Profjonathon will receive a coupon for $10 off any purchase at the PreCentral.net Accessory store.  Want one? Check out our Forum Review details here!

When Palm announced WebOS, many expressed concern about losing their investment in (and functionality of) their existing PalmOS apps, especially when Palm said it would not be creating a PalmOS emulator and that the earliest version of the SDK would not be sufficiently low-level to enable someone else to do so. Happily, Palm soon retreated from that position, giving MotionApps sufficient access to the SDK and WebOS' foundations to enable MotionApps to create Classic. While not a complete solution for all PalmOS apps, Classic (which was made available via the App Catalog on the Pre launch day, and is currently on version 1.1) has rapidly become a must-have for those of us who are transitioning from PalmOS devices (in my case, a T|X) to WebOS.

Read on for the full review!

read more...
Tags:

Palm Pre Review 175

by Dieter Bohn Sun, 12 Jul 2009 3:16 pm EDT

palm pre open in hand

The Palm Pre is an all-new smartphone designed from the ground-up to work with the web. It's currently a Sprint-exclusive priced at $199 after mail-in rebate. It runs an all-new operating system called "webOS" that is based on linux and sports innovative features like Synergy for syncing and multitasking "cards" to quickly switch between tasks. The Pre itself is incredibly small yet has a large touchscreen and a slide-down keyboard. Quite simply, it's incredible.

We're covering the Palm Pre from all angles here at PreCentral.net. What you're reading now is our full, unabridged review of the Palm Pre. We also have have links to Palm Pre photo galleries and 12 video reviews of the Pre in our sidebar.

New to Pre? Check out our Comprehensive Palm Pre Guide!

Read on for our massive review!

read more...

App Review: FlightView 34

by zyxwv88 Fri, 26 Jun 2009 10:35 am EDT

This app review brought to you by forum member zyxwv88.  For the fine work done here, zyxwv88 will receive a coupon for $10 off any purchase at the PreCentral.net Accessory store.  Want one? Check out our Forum Review details here!

To start with, I'm rather impressed with FlightView. Although it has a few minor issues, it is very useful for a free app.

I started using FlightView last week when my wife flew to Florida. I found all of her flights, had it remember them, and then I could watch and see how she was doing on her trip.

Read on for the full review

read more...
Tags:

DoubleTwist Manages Your Pre Media, Freely, Easily, and Transparently 32

by Dieter Bohn Thu, 25 Jun 2009 1:19 pm EDT

The way that the Palm Pre works with iTunes is great, clever, intuitive, and just aggravating enough for me to want to try something else for syncing my media. The 'something else' I picked was a no-brainer and I'm not going back: doubleTwist.

doubleTwist, if you didn't know, is the new project from Jon Lech Johansen, who you may know better as 'DVD Jon,' who has found workarounds for nearly every meda DRM you can think of.  That's serious geek cred, sure, but it's also a signal and Johansen cares about openness, transparency, and simplicity and those virtues are abudant in doubleTwist.

doubleTwist is an application for both Mac and PC that allows you to easily transfer media from your computer to virtually any device you plug into it. It understands what the Pre can and can't support and automatically re-formats your media into a compatible format.  I may have mentioned RealPlayer SP yesterday, but trust me: doubleTwist is better.  For me, it's even better than the built-in iTunes Sync.

Read on to find out why and to get some thoughts on the webOS and the Pre from DVD Jon himself.

read more...
Tags:

App Review: Fandango 21

by egreenwood1 Tue, 23 Jun 2009 9:03 am EDT

 

This app review brought to you by forum member egreenwood1.  For the fine work done here, egreenwood1 will receive a coupon for $10 off any purchase at the PreCentral.net Accessory store.  Want one? Check out our Forum Review details here!

The Fandango app is available for download immediately from the Palm Catalog for free and is a very handy app for anybody that enjoys the movies. It is a location aware application so right away it will know where you are and what theaters are around your location. The main screen has four major options. They are: 1) Movies. 2) Theaters. 3) In Theaters. and 4) Coming Soon.

read more...
Tags:

Palm Pre vs. iPhone 3G S iPhone Browser Head to Head 99

by Dieter Bohn Sat, 20 Jun 2009 11:54 am EDT

We're going to kick off the Palm Pre vs. iPhone 3G S excitement with a simple browser smackdown.  The short version: the iPhone 3G S is faster in our video above, but the Pre is close and actually is edging out the iPhone after the just-applied 1.03 webOS update.  The part you actually should pay attention to is "time to content," i.e. how long it takes to load up the stuff you actually want to read as opposed to the javascripty-bits. Bottom line: speed-wise there's a hair's-breadth between the two browsers, it's so close that you really ought not be making your purchase decision based on it -- or bragging about it either way.

Feature-wise, we give the edge to the iPhone 3G S -- they are on version 3.0 while the Pre is just getting started at 1.02 / 1.03.  The ability to pop up a link in a new browser window is quite nice -- not to mention Autofill.  I myself prefer the Pre's Card metaphor to the in-app tabs of Safari, but that 's a matter of taste.

Stay tuned for more as we pit these devices against each other!

[cross-posted at The iPhone Blog, where you'll find a raft of iPhone 3G S coverage!

Update: As noted in the comments and in a raft of emails, you can open links in a new card on the Pre with Opt + Space + Tap.  It works, but Palm, really, Opt + Tap isn't really doing anything here.  Just saying. Thanks everybody!

Tags:

Palm Pre Camera, Pictures, and Videos Video Review 8

by Dieter Bohn Thu, 04 Jun 2009 12:52 pm EDT

Looks like we'll be re-uploading this one tomorrow -- YouTube fail!  Sorry for the foreshortened video

Touchstone Video Review 0

by Dieter Bohn Wed, 03 Jun 2009 11:49 pm EDT

Plugging in is so 2008. With the Touchstone charger, the Palm Pre can do something that no other smartphone, or no other phone for that matter, can do: charge wirelessly. All you've got to do is set the Pre down on the Touchstone 'puck' and voilà it charges! Scientists call it inductive charging, but we call it magic. Once you've had your share of magic, be sure to head on over to PreCentral's comprehensive Palm Pre review.

Palm Pre Email Overview in Video 3

by Dieter Bohn Wed, 03 Jun 2009 11:41 pm EDT

Multiple accounts, a unified inbox, and push Gmail? Can it get any better? Check out the video below, and then be sure to head on over to PreCentral's comprehensive Palm Pre review for all the rest.

Palm Pre Music Video Review 6

by Dieter Bohn Wed, 03 Jun 2009 11:36 pm EDT

Palm or iPod? Depends on whether you're asking iTunes. Check our our review of the Palm Pre's iTunes-syncing Media Sync feature, the Music player, Amazon MP3, and Pandora. But there's more to the Pre than just tunes, so check out our comprehensive Palm Pre review here on PreCentral for all you need to know.